Amit Misra

Professor and Department Chair

3062B H.H. Dow

T: (734) 763-2445



Group Members


Photo Gallery


B.S. (May 1989), Metallurgical Engineering, Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University (now IIT-Varanasi), India
M.S. (Aug.1991), Materials Science and Engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Ph.D. (Sept.1994), Materials Science and Engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor


Research focuses on light-weight structural materials, radiation-damage tolerant materials, high strength and high electrical conductivity materials and other metal-based multiphase and composite materials, with emphasis on designing materials with enhanced functionality through understanding and control of interface and defect phenomena.


Nov’96 – May ‘14      Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL).

LANL Fellow / Scientist Level 5 and Director, Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC): Center for Materials at Irradiation and Mechanical Extremes


  • Fellow, AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science), 2018
  • Brimacombe Medalist, The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS), 2017
  • Fellow, Materials Research Society (MRS), Class of 2016
  • 2016 DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD, The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS), Materials Processing and Manufacturing Division. 
  • Fellow, Los Alamos National Laboratory, class of 2011.
  • Fellow, American Society of Metals (ASM), International: class of 2011.
  • 2011 DISTINGUISHED SCIENTIST/ENGINEER AWARD, The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS), Materials Processing and Manufacturing Division.
  • 2008 LANL Fellows’ Prize for outstanding research in nanomechanics.
  • 2013 LANL Distinguished Postdoctoral Mentor award.
  • Selected by National Academy of Engineering for Frontiers of Engineering Symposium 2011.
  • Selected for the 11th Annual National Academies Keck Futures Initiative conference, Future of Advanced Nuclear Technologies: Building a Healthier and Safer Planet, (November 2013).
  • Materials Research Society (MRS):
    • Chair, Editorial Board, MRS Bulletin, 2019 - current.
    • Meeting Chair, Fall 2012;
    • Symposium Chair: Spring Meeting 2004, Spring Meeting 2006, Fall Meeting 2006,
    • Fall Meeting 2008, Spring Meeting 2010.
    • MRS Bulletin: 2009 Volume Organizer; Editorial Board (current).
  • The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS):
    • Elected Chair (2007-2009), vice-chair (2005-2007): Nanomechanical Material Behavior technical committee;
    • Symposium co-Chair: TMS Annual Meetings: 2003, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2014;
    • Tutorial co-organizer, Nanomechanical Characterization, TMS AM-2008;
    • Program Grid Chair for TMS Annual Meeting 2011;
    • Symposium Chair, PRICM-8, 2013.
  • Meeting Chair, DOE, Office of Basic Energy Sciences Contractors’ Meeting on Mechanical Behavior and Radiation Effects, April 2008.
  • Guest edited 5 special issues in different journals in materials science and engineering.
  • Editor, Materials Research Letters.
  • Co-organizer and instructor, Summer School, 20-25th June 2010, Atomic-level Response of Materials to Irradiation, Santa Fe, NM.